Skip to content

Tyrrhenian Amphora

February 9, 2014

This is a brief post tonight as I spent yesterday in London. I did not get home until very late and so have not had the time to write a longer post this weekend. Whilst in London I had a short time to visit the British Museum. I am studying Early Rome and Italy for my next module and headed straight to see the artefacts from this period that the museum has. This Tyrrhenian amphora was discovered in Cerveteri and dates to around 540 BC:

2014-02-08 13.24.58

The photo is not particularly clear as the amphora is behind glass. However, you can make out in the top part of the scene soldiers fighting over the body of an injured comrade. Below this scene creatures are depicted such as sphinxes, roosters, sirens and panthers. Pallottino (1991:78) observes that it is possible to assume that the communities on the Tyrrhenian coastline were influenced by Greece. I would suggest that this is an excellent example of the influence of the southern Greek colonies on the Latins. The decoration is beautiful, detailed and reminiscent of Greek pottery of the period. I will look forward to writing further on the subject as I progress with my studies.  

Bibliography

Pallottino, M. A History of Earliest Italy London: Routledge, 1991.

From → Artefacts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

