Skip to content

The Gates of Hell

April 20, 2013

I have been suffering my own personal torment today trying to get into essay writing mode; so many ideas but sometimes very difficult to get them down. So I have taken a break to compile today’s blog post; I have handed my blog over to the many contributors to the internet and their articles.

I owe this idea to fellow twitterer @c_katsari who tweeted the following article yesterday. I  hope you enjoy it as much as I did;

Archaeologists Find a Classic Entrance to Hell

However, whilst looking it up I also found a site with a few more pictures

Can this be the mythological “Gates of Hell”?

Whilst reading the article a memory was triggered and I recalled another Gate to Hell in Southern Greece, Alepotrypa which you can read about on the following sites

Killer Cave May Have Inspired Myth of Hades

Alepotrypa: Incredible cave which experts believe inspired the Greek legend of Hades

Within myth there are a number of other Gates of Hell mentionned such as a cleft in the earth in Sicily where Hades kidnapped Persephone, Orpheus and Hercules (on separate occasions) entered the underworld via a cave in Taenarum, Aeneas entered from a cave near Lake Avernus and Odysseus via a cave near Lake Acheron.

I would be interested to know of any other gates that people know of; my interest has been caught and now I need to find out (although it will have to wait until I have tackled my essay. I am a third of the way there.) Next time you consider entering a cave just make sure that there are no inscriptions to Hades and Persephone on the wall before you go in; you would not want to end up in hell!

Thank you Constantina for the idea.

4 Comments
  1. You are most welcome. The most famous Gate maybe the one at Acheron in mainland Greece. Not many tourists end up there but it is a great archaeological site

  2. Thank you for the information regarding the Acheron and Necromanteion of Parga, that is another destination to add to the list of places I must visit. The photos I just saw online look amazing.

  3. There is an entrance to hell in the Mani Peninsula at Cape Matapan (Taenaros). Apparently there was a crypt where priests would give oracles. The whole Mani is very historical and only became Christian at the end of the ninth century. I spent 10 days of my month’s honeymoon in Greece there staying in Gythion.

  4. Thank you Pauline. It certainly looks fascinating, I have never been so far south in Greece. I am hoping to go back next year so will hopefully get a chance to visit.

Leave a Reply

